Haryana is among the northern most state in India and adjacent to Delhi, the national capital of India. It is surrounded by Uttar Pradesh in the east, Punjab in the west, Himachal Pradesh in the north, and Rajasthan in the south. The state surrounds the national capital city, New Delhi, from three sides.